The Ocean Cup World Speed Records competitions are designed for sea worthy, offshore craft capable of undertaking independent, extended offshore passages in unprotected waters. 


First recognized as a sport in 1904, offshore powerboat racing began as point-to-point, endurance races frequently spanning hundreds of miles of open ocean. In the mid-1990s, offshore became near-shore racing in a track style format, a circuit loop around which boats raced for a number of pre-determined laps. This improved the viewing for the spectators.


During the years, the near-shore course has gotten smaller and shorter. Today a race course is normally a small 5-mile oval as close to the beach as possible. Since the beach drops off quickly, the boats usually run within 150 feet of the surf. Even the outside leg can be clearly seen from the shoreline.


The Harmsworth Trophy (1932)


In 2013, Nigel Hook deciding to get back down to old school, endurance style offshore events established the first Ocean Cup referred to as “Golden Gate to Queen Mary”. The 2013 Ocean Cup was a 435-mile run from San Francisco to Los Angeles. Pilots Nigel Hook, Dan MacNamara, Lance Ware, and Andy Hindley were up to the challenge, however, the fuel water separator issues forced the team to stop the 48’ Apisa Scarab outfitted with twin Cummins QSB 6.7 550 diesel engines several times.  Time 9 hours 50 minutes 51 seconds.


The second event was the 2017 Ocean Cup - “Key West to Cuba” world speed record where Nigel Hook and Jay Johnson smashed an existing record by 15 minutes and garnered a Guinness World Record for the fastest journey from Key West to Cuba by powered boat in 1 hour 18 minutes 03 seconds. After spending a couple of hours in Havana for a press conference and passport control, the round trip was completed in 5 hours 41 minutes 59 seconds setting a UIM World Record. 


The 2018 Ocean Cup – “Trinidad to Tobago” was incorporated into the 50th Anniversary running of The Great Race where Team Motul Monster set the UIM record at a blazing fast 47 minutes 43 seconds.


The 4th Ocean Cup held June 7 & 8, 2019 revived a historic ocean event, The Gateway Marathon, which had been staged for six years 1964-1969. Previous winners include legendary offshore racers Allan Brown, Jim Wynne, Odell Lewis, and Don Aronow.  In 2019, Nigel Hook and Michael Silfverberg set West Palm to Freeport, Grand Bahama at 1 hour 3 min 43 seconds with an average speed of 95.327mph and the return trip was set at 1 hour 5 min and 36 seconds with an average speed of 91.646mph (cumulative total 2 hours 9 minutes 9 seconds with an average speed of 93.497 mph) as sanctioned by the American Power Boat Association and the Union Internationale Motonautique.

About Ocean Cup